The First-Time Homebuyer Tax Credit

Repaying the 2008 Federal Tax Credit for First-Time Homebuyers

Real estate agent and a couple shaking hands in an empty home

Fresh Meat Media LLC / The Image Bank / Getty Images

The first-time homebuyer tax credit ended in 2010, at least for most taxpayers, but it still applies to those who purchased homes in 2008, 2009, or 2010. Taxpayers who took the credit on their federal income tax returns in 2008 are obligated to repay it over 15 years, beginning with their 2010 tax returns. They'll have to make payments until 2025.

The credit was fully refundable. Eligible taxpayers were able to obtain an additional federal tax refund of up to $7,500 in 2008, even if they had no other tax liabilities, so it was a very advantageous credit indeed. But those who took the credit in that one year are obligated to repay it.

The History of the First-Time Homebuyer Credit 

The credit was worth up to $7,500 for homes purchased in 2008, or $3,750 for married individuals who filed separate returns. It then increased to an $8,000 limit for homes purchased from January through November of 2009, and to $4,000 for married couples filing separately.


The requirement to repay the credit was repealed for homes purchased after 2008. Congress then renewed this version of the credit from December 2009 through April 2010. 

Congress acted to offer a reduced credit of up to $6,500 to "long-term" residents who were buying their own homes, more or less simultaneously with renewing the credit for those five months from 2009 through 2010. The limit was $3,250 for married couples who filed separate returns. The effective period of this credit lasted from Nov. 7, 2009, through April 2010. That credit doesn't require repayment.

Qualified members of the U.S. Armed Forces remained eligible for the credit through April 30, 2011. Those serving in the U.S. military, the intelligence community, or Foreign Service on official extended duty outside the U.S. had an additional year to qualify for the homebuyer credit.

What Is a Primary Residence?

The tax credit applied to primary residences only. A primary residence is one where you lived most of the time. It could be a house, a condominium, a co-operative apartment, a mobile home, or even a houseboat.

Because the tax credit was designed for those purchasing a primary residence, taxpayers could qualify even if they otherwise owned a vacation home or rental property, provided that those properties were not their primary residences for at least three years preceding the purchase of their new residences. 

Calculating the Tax Credit and Other Rules 

The tax credit was equal to 10% of the purchase price of your home. No tax credit was allowed if the purchase price of the home exceeded $800,000. 

A first-time homebuyer was defined as someone who did not own a primary residence in the three-year period that ended on the date of purchasing the home. Married couples were considered first-time buyers if neither spouse owned a residence in the previous three years. They were disqualified if one of them did.

Long-term residents were defined as those who owned and lived in their residences for at least five consecutive years in the eight-year period that ended on the purchase date of the new property.

Income Phase-Out Range

The credit was initially phased out for individuals with modified adjusted gross incomes (MAGIs) of between $75,000 and $95,000. The phase-out range was $150,000 to $170,000 for married couples filing joint returns. Then, effective Nov. 6, 2009, the phase-out ranges started at $125,000, or $225,000 for married couples.

Repaying the First-Time Homebuyer Credit

The homebuyer credit is repaid as an additional tax on your federal tax return if you bought your home and qualified in 2008. It must be repaid at the rate of 6 2/3%, or 1/15 of your credit amount. This works out to annual repayments of $500 per year if you received the maximum $7,500 credit. Think of it like an interest-free 15-year loan.


Repayment requirement for homes purchased after 2008 has expired, though you'd still need to repay the credit you received for a home purchased in 2008.

Repaying the credit requires filing a tax return even if you wouldn't otherwise be required to do so. The payment is entered on line 10 of Schedule 2 for the 2021 tax year, the return you'll file in 2022.

When You Must Repay in Full 

The credit must be repaid in full, in one lump sum equal to the balance, if you sell a home that was purchased in 2008 at any time within the 15-year repayment period. This involves preparing and filing Form 5405 which will calculate how much you owe. The Internal Revenue Service provides instructions for completing the form on its website. 


You do not have to submit Form 5405 if you're making one of your 15-year annual repayments and you still own the home. This form is only for use if you sell the property.

Calculating the repayment in the event of foreclosure can be complicated, so you might want to seek the help of a tax professional. 

You can then report the repayment amount on Form 1040. You don't have to file Form 5405 when you make an installment payment. 

The surviving spouse is responsible for only one half the repayment balance if you and your spouse purchased the home and claimed the credit together, and if one of you subsequently dies before the 15-year period ends. The portion owed by the deceased spouse is effectively erased. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

When did the first-time homebuyer tax credit expire?

The first-time homebuyer credit was available for qualifying homebuyers who purchased their homes in 2008, 2009, or 2010. Only homebuyers who purchased their home and took the credit in 2008 have to repay it.

How do I pay back my first-time homebuyer credit?

If you took the credit in 2008, you'll repay it as an additional tax each year for 15 years. That amounts to 6 2/3% of the total credit you took as an extra tax when you file your return each year.

Is there a 2022 first-time homebuyer tax credit?

President Biden has attempted to pass a new $15,000 first-time homebuyer tax credit, but as of May, 2022, Congress had not passed the bill. Some states still offer their own credits for homebuyers, as well.

Was this page helpful?
The Balance uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Internal Revenue Service. "Topic No. 611 Repayment of the First-Time Homebuyer Credit."

  2. U.S. Treasury. "Administration of the First-Time Homebuyer Credit."

  3. U.S. Congress. “H.R.1 - American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.” Page 123 STAT. 316.

  4. U.S. Congress. “Public Law 111 - 92 - Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance Act of 2009.” Page 123 STAT. 2989.

  5. Internal Revenue Service. "First-Time Homebuyer Credit Questions and Answers: Basic Information."

  6. Internal Revenue Service. "First-Time Homebuyer Credit Extended to April 30, 2010; Some Current Homeowners Now Also Qualify."

  7. Internal Revenue Service. “Form 5405, First-Time Homebuyer Credit.” Page 1.

  8. Internal Revenue Service. "Tax Credits for Home Buyers."

  9. Internal Revenue Service. “Part 21. Customer Account Services.”

  10. Internal Revenue Service. "Instructions for Form 5405 (11/2021)."

  11. U.S. Congres. "H.R.2863 - First-Time Homebuyer Act of 2021."

Related Articles