State Tax Chart: Income, Sales, Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes

When relocating from one state to another, it's vital to consider the new taxation rates you'll encounter in your new state of residence. This is particularly important for retirees, since many are on fixed incomes and unanticipated taxes can radically impair one's retirement lifestyle.

Overview of State Taxes in a Chart

The chart below shows which states currently collect state individual income taxes, state sales taxes, state estate taxes, state inheritance taxes, and/or state gift taxes. Note that local governments at the county or city level may collect one even if the state does not.

State Individual Income Tax Sales Tax Estate Tax Inheritance Tax Gift Tax
Alabama Yes Yes No No No
Alaska No No No No No
Arizona Yes Yes No No No
Arkansas Yes Yes No No No
California Yes Yes No No No
Colorado Yes Yes No No No
Connecticut Yes Yes Yes No Yes
Delaware Yes No Yes No No
District of Columbia Yes Yes Yes No No
Florida No Yes No No No
Georgia Yes Yes No No No
Hawaii Yes Yes Yes No No
Idaho Yes Yes No No No
Illinois Yes Yes Yes No No
Indiana Yes Yes No No No
Iowa Yes Yes No Yes No
Kansas Yes Yes No No No
Kentucky Yes Yes No Yes No
Louisiana Yes Yes No No No
Maine Yes Yes No No No
Maryland Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Massachusetts Yes Yes Yes No No
Michigan Yes Yes No No No
Minnesota Yes Yes Yes No Yes, as of 7/1/13
Mississippi Yes Yes No No No
Missouri Yes Yes No No No
Montana Yes No No No No
Nebraska Yes Yes No Yes No
Nevada No Yes No No No
New Hampshire *Yes No No No No
New Jersey Yes Yes Yes Yes No
New Mexico Yes Yes No No No
New York Yes Yes Yes No No
North Carolina Yes Yes No No No
North Dakota Yes Yes No No No
Ohio Yes Yes No No No
Oklahoma Yes Yes No No No
Oregon Yes No Yes No No
Pennsylvania Yes Yes No Yes No
Rhode Island Yes Yes Yes No No
South Carolina Yes Yes No No No
South Dakota No Yes No No No
Tennessee *Yes Yes Yes No No
Texas No Yes No No No
Utah Yes Yes No No No
Vermont Yes Yes Yes No No
Virginia Yes Yes No No No
Washington No Yes Yes No No
West Virginia Yes Yes No No No
Wisconsin Yes Yes No No No
Wyoming No Yes No No No

State Income Taxes

The following seven states exempt residents from all income tax liability: Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming. Meanwhile, although New Hampshire and Tennessee, don't tax a resident's wages and salary, these states do tax interest, dividends, and other investment income.

If you are relocating to another state, be sure to check out the filing dates for completing state tax returns and paying taxes. Also, some states may offer tax amnesty programs that will waive any late filing fees. 

State Sales Taxes

The following five states do not collect a state sales tax: Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon. However, some of these states find ways to collect taxes, in other forms. For example, 62 localities in Alaska collect local sales taxes, ranging from 1 percent to 7 percent. Delaware collects a gross receipts tax from businesses, which can equal up to 2.07 percent of the total receipts from goods sold and services rendered throughout the state. And finally, New Hampshire collects a tax on patrons of restaurants, hotels, prepared foods, car rentals, tobacco, electricity, telecommunication services, real estate transfers, and alcohol.

State Estate Taxes

Estate taxes, which are based on the overall value of estate, are currently collected in the states of Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, and the District of Columbia.

State Inheritance Taxes

Inheritance taxes, which are calculated based on who inherits the estate as opposed to the overall value of the estate, are currently collected in the states of Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. Notice that Maryland and New Jersey collect both state estate taxes and inheritance taxes.  And in May 2013, Indiana's inheritance tax was retroactively repealed to January 1, 2013.

State Gift Taxes

Until recently, only the state of Connecticut collected gift taxes at the state level: However, in the late spring of 2013, Minnesota enacted a state gift tax that went into effect on July 1, 2013. In May 2012, the Tennessee gift tax was retroactively repealed back to January 1, 2012. Meanwhile, Louisiana's gift tax was repealed on July 1, 2008, and North Carolina's gift tax was repealed on January 1, 2009.

The information contained in this article is not tax or legal advice and is not a substitute for such advice. State and federal laws change frequently, and the information in this article may not reflect your own state’s laws or the most recent changes to the law. For current tax or legal advice, please consult with an accountant or an attorney.

Was this page helpful?
The Balance uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Center on Budget and Policy Priorities. "State Taxes on Inherited Wealth." Accessed Sept. 5, 2021.

  2. AARP. "17 States With Estate or Inheritance Taxes." Accessed Sept. 5, 2021.

  3. Tax Foundation. "Does Your State Have an Estate or Inheritance Tax?" Accessed Sept. 5, 2021.

Related Articles